Principal and owner

The owner/principal of Radicand Economics is dr. Paul de Bijl. His fields of expertise are regulatory economics, competition economics and the digital economy. In addition to his consulting work, he gives executive courses on strategy in regulated markets, digital platforms and economic policy, for instance at the National Academy for Finance and Economics and Nyenrode Business University.

Paul is also associate digital strategist at Ngrane and (part-time) senior lecturer Competition & Regulation at U.S.E. (Utrecht University School of Economics). He is also an associate of Kwink Groep, (unpaid) non-governmental advisor (NGA) of the Dutch competition authority ACM (Authority Consumers and Markets), and extramural fellow of TILEC (Tilburg Law & Economics Center), Tilburg University.

During 2013-2015, Paul was (part-time) visiting professor Regulatory Economics at the WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management (Vallendar, Germany). During 2013-2016 he was, in addition to his consulting practice at Radicand Economics, associate partner of Lexonomics. During 2006-2013, he was head of the department Competition and Regulation at the CPB Netherlands Bureau for Economic Policy Analysis.

Paul obtained a PhD in Economics at Tilburg University, supervised by Helmut Bester and Eric van Damme. He carried out a substantial part of his PhD research at the Université de Toulouse I under the supervision of Nobel Prize laureate Jean Tirole.

With professor Martin Peitz, Paul de Bijl wrote the book Regulation and Entry into Telecommunications Markets (Cambridge University Press, 2002; Chinese translation 2006), which received critical acclaim from academics, consultants and regulators. Paul has published in various academic journals, including Telecommunications Policy, the Journal of Information Policy, the International Journal of Industrial Organization, the Journal of Regulatory Economics and Information Economics and Policy. He was guest editor of the special issue on future telecommunications regulation of Telecommunications Policy (2008). He is a member of the Editorial Board of the Journal of Information Policy and the Editorial Board of Tijdschrift voor Toezicht.